

Minutes of an Extraordinary Meeting of the Council Monday, 10th July, 2023 at 6.00pm at Dudley Town Hall, St James's Road, Dudley

Present:

Councillor A Goddard (Mayor)

Councillor P Lee (Deputy Mayor)

Councillors S Ali, A Aston, M Aston, P Atkins, C Barnett, C Bayton, D Bevan, I Bevan, H Bills, D Borley, S Bothul, P Bradley, R Buttery, K Casey, B Challenor, S Clark, J Clinton, Dr R Clinton, R Collins, D Corfield, J Cowell, T Crumpton, A Davies, K Denning, P Dobb, P Drake, M Dudley, C Eccles, J Elliott, M Evans, J Foster, M Hanif, D Harley, P Harley, S Henley, A Hopwood, A Hughes, L Johnson, S Keasey, I Kettle, E Lawrence, A Lees, K Lewis, W Little, P Lowe, J Martin, P Miller, S Mughal, S Phipps, A Qayyum, S Ridney, M Rogers, P Sahota, D Stanley, C Sullivan, W Sullivan, A Taylor, E Taylor, A Tromans, M Webb, K Westwood, M Westwood and Q Zada together with the Chief Executive and other Officers.

Prayers

The Mayor led the Council in saying the Lord's Prayer.

20 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Councillors T Creed, M Howard, N Neale, K Razzaq, T Russon and L Taylor-Childs.

21 **Declaration of Interests**

There were no declarations of interest in accordance with the Members' Code of Conduct.

Working as One Council in Dudley

CL/21

22 Position of Leader of the Council

A report of the Lead for Law and Governance (Monitoring Officer) was submitted.

The following motion was moved by Councillor Q Zada and seconded by Councillor H Bills:

"That in accordance with the provisions of Article 7.03(d) of the Council's Constitution, Councillor P Harley be removed from the office of Leader of the Council with immediate effect."

At the end of a speech by Councillor S Keasey, Councillor R Collins moved a closure motion pursuant to Council Procedure Rule 14.11(a), which was duly seconded by Councillor K Lewis, to the effect that the question be now put.

In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 14.11(b) the Mayor was of the opinion that, in all the circumstances, the motion had been sufficiently discussed. The closure motion was put to the vote and it was

Resolved

That the question be now put.

Pursuant to Council Procedure Rule 16.4 and, following a demand from more than six Members present at the meeting, the voting on the closure motion was recorded as follows:

<u>For</u> (38)

Councillors P Atkins, D Bevan, I Bevan, D Borley, S Bothul, P Bradley, R Buttery, B Challenor, S Clark, J Clinton, Dr R Clinton, R Collins, D Corfield, A Davies, P Dobb, M Dudley, J Elliott, M Evans, A Goddard, D Harley, P Harley, S Henley, A Hopwood, L Johnson, I Kettle, E Lawrence, P Lee, A Lees, K Lewis, W Little, P Miller, S Phipps, M Rogers, D Stanley, C Sullivan, W Sullivan, A Taylor and M Webb. <u>Against</u> (27)

Councillors S Ali, A Aston, M Aston, C Barnett, C Bayton, H Bills, K Casey, J Cowell, T Crumpton, K Denning, P Drake, C Eccles, J Foster, M Hanif, A Hughes, S Keasey, P Lowe, J Martin, S Mughal, A Qayyum, S Ridney, P Sahota, E Taylor, A Tromans, K Westwood, M Westwood and Q Zada.

Pursuant to Council Procedure Rule 14.9, Councillor Q Zada was afforded and exercised his right of reply to the debate.

The original motion was thereupon put to the vote and lost.

Pursuant to Council Procedure Rule 16.4 and, following a demand from more than six Members present at the meeting, the voting on the original motion was recorded as follows:

<u>For</u> (27)

Councillors S Ali, A Aston, M Aston, C Barnett, C Bayton, H Bills, K Casey, J Cowell, T Crumpton, K Denning, P Drake, C Eccles, J Foster, M Hanif, A Hughes, S Keasey, P Lowe, J Martin, S Mughal, A Qayyum, S Ridney, P Sahota, E Taylor, A Tromans, K Westwood, M Westwood and Q Zada.

Against (38)

Councillors P Atkins, D Bevan, I Bevan, D Borley, S Bothul, P Bradley, R Buttery, B Challenor, S Clark, J Clinton, Dr R Clinton, R Collins, D Corfield, A Davies, P Dobb, M Dudley, J Elliott, M Evans, A Goddard, D Harley, P Harley, S Henley, A Hopwood, L Johnson, I Kettle, E Lawrence, P Lee, A Lees, K Lewis, W Little, P Miller, S Phipps, M Rogers, D Stanley, C Sullivan, W Sullivan, A Taylor and M Webb.

The meeting ended at 6.38 pm

MAYOR

CL/23