ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL – 17TH MAY, 2007

COMPOSITION AND MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES FOR 2007/2008 (ORDINARY SEATS)

<u>COMMITTEE</u> <u>NUMBER OF SEATS</u>

	TOTAL	CONSERVATIVE	<u>LABOUR</u>	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT
Select Committee on Children's Services *	11	6	4	1
Select Committee on Community Safety and Community Services	11	6	4	1
Select Committee on Health and Adult Social Care	11	6	4	1
Select Committee on the Environment	11	6	4	1
Select Committee on Regeneration, Culture and Adult Education	11	6	4	1
Appointments	9	5	4	-
Audit	9	5	3	1
Development Control	9	5	3	1
Disciplinary/Dismissal/ Grading Appeals	9	5	4	-
Licensing and Safety	15	8	6	1
Taxis	9	5	3	1
Tree Preservation Orders	9	5	4	-
Standards#	6	2	2	2

^{*} Excluding Non-Elected Members

[#] Excluding the two Independent Members (Proportionality does not apply to the Standards Committee)

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL – 17TH MAY, 2007

PROPOSALS FOR THE APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN AND VICE-CHAIRMEN FOR 2007/2008

COMMITTEE	CHAIRMAN Councillor	VICE-CHAIRMAN Councillor
Select Committee on Children's Services	Nottingham	Ms. Boleyn
Select Committee on Community Safety and Community Services	A Turner	Cotterill
Select Committee on Health and Adult Social Care	Mrs. Ridney	Mrs. Faulkner
Select Committee on the Environment	Mrs. Cowell	Mrs H. Turner
Select Committee on Regeneration, Culture and Adult Education	R. Wilson	Mottram
Appointments	Caunt	Fraser-Macnamara
Audit	Taylor	Kettle
Development Control	Wright	Banks
Disciplinary/Dismissal/ Grading Appeals	Harley	Jackson
Licensing and Safety	Ryder	D. Blood
Taxis	Mrs. Ameson	Hill
Tree Preservation Orders	James	Simms
Standards	Independent Chairman – The Bishop of Dudley	-

CABINET

Leader and Cabinet Members	<u>Portfolios</u>	Labour Group Spokesperson	Liberal Democrat Group Spokesperson
Councillors			
Caunt (Leader)	Policy	Sparks	Tyler
Fraser- Macnamara	Leisure and Culture	Crumpton	Tyler
Miller	Adult and Community Services	Mrs. Ridney	Mrs. Collins
Mrs. Walker	Children's Services	Ms. Partridge	Ms. Boleyn
Knowles	Economic Regeneration	Tomkinson	Tyler
Mrs. Shakespeare	Environment	Lowe	Ms. Craigie
Mrs. Millward	Finance	Ali	Lavender
Evans	Housing	Waltho	Ms. Craigie
Mrs. P. Martin	Personnel, Legal and Property	G. H. Davies	Tyler
Adams	Transportation	Ms. Foster	Tyler

CABINET

Leader (Chairman) Councillor Caunt

Cabinet Members (9) Deputy Leader - Councillor Fraser-Macnamara

Councillor Adams
Councillor Evans
Councillor Knowles
Councillor Mrs. P. Martin

Councillor Miller

Councillor Mrs. Millward Councillor Mrs. Shakespeare

Councillor Mrs. Walker

Labour and Liberal Democrat group members to attend meetings (to speak but not vote).

<u>Labour Group</u> <u>Liberal Democrat Group</u>

7 places 1 place

Councillors Councillor

Sparks Tyler

Ali

Crumpton G. H. Davies Mrs. Ridney Ms. Partridge Ms. Foster

SELECT COMMITTEE ON CHILDREN'S SERVICES 2007/08

<u>Co</u>	<u>nservative</u> (6)	La	<u>bour</u> (4)	<u>Lib</u>	eral Democrat (1)
<u>Co</u>	<u>uncillors</u>	<u>Co</u>	<u>ouncillors</u>	Co	<u>uncillors</u>
	Mrs. Dunn Hill Nottingham Mrs. Rogers D. Blood Wright	2. 3.	Ms. Partridge Mrs. Coulter Roberts Hanif	1.	Ms. Boleyn

Chairman – Nottingham Vice-Chairman – Ms. Boleyn

In addition there are the following non-elected members:-

Voting Members

Parent Governor Representatives

- 1. Secondary Schools Mr S. R. Smith
- 2. Primary Schools Mr J. Jones.
- 3. Special Schools Vacancy.

Church Representatives

- 1. Worcester Diocesan Board of Education Revd A. Wickens
- 2. Archdiocese of Birmingham Mr A. M. P. Hatton

Non-Voting Members

Teacher Representatives

- 1. Primary Education Ms. M. Verdegam
- 2. Secondary/Special Education Mrs. P Roe

Free Churches

1. Mr. S. Taylor

Persons with experience of and interest in education in the Borough

- 1. Mrs. G. Simms
- 2. Mr. T. Billingham

SELECT COMMITTEE ON COMMUNITY SAFETY AND COMMUNITY SERVICES 2007/08

Con	servative (6)	Lal	<u>oour</u> (4)	Lib	eral Democrat (1)
Cou	<u>ncillors</u>	Co	<u>uncillors</u>	Co	uncillors
2. 3. 4. 5.	Burston Harley Jones Nottingham Ryder A. Turner	3.	Ms. Foster Cotterill A. Finch Ahmed	1.	Mrs. Collins
	Chairman – A. Tur	ner	Vice-Chairma	n –	Cotterill

SELECT COMMITTEE ON HEALTH AND ADULT SOCIAL CARE 2007/08

Conservative (6)	<u>Labour</u> (4)	<u>Liberal Democrat</u> (1)
Councillors	<u>Councillors</u>	Councillors
 Mrs. E. Blood Mrs. Cowell Mrs. Faulkner Jackson K. Turner Simms 	 Mrs. Ridney J. Martin Mrs. Aston Mrs. Jordan 	1. Lavender

Chairman – Mrs. Ridney Vice-Chairman – Mrs. Faulkner

SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE ENVIRONMENT 2007/08

Conservative	<u>e</u> (6)	Lab	<u>oour</u> (4)	<u>Lib</u>	eral Democrat (1)
Councillors		Co	<u>uncillors</u>	Co	<u>uncillors</u>
 Mrs. Cov Harley James Kettle Stanley Mrs. H. 1 		3.	Lowe Waltho Islam While-Cooper	1.	Ms. Craigie

Chairman – Mrs. Cowell Vice-Chairman – Mrs. H. Turner

SELECT COMMITTEE ON REGENERATION, CULTURE AND ADULT EDUCATION 2007/08

Conservative (6)	Labour (4)	<u>Liberal Democrat</u> (1)
Councillors	Councillors	<u>Councillors</u>
 K. Turner Jackson Jones Southall R. Wilson Woodall 	 Tomkinson Crumpton Mottram Rahman 	1. Tyler

Chairman – R. Wilson Vice-Chairman – Mottram

REGULATORY COMMITTEES

NO Cabinet Member will sit on these Committees apart from the Appointments Committee – where there must be at least one Cabinet Member

APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE 2007/08

Conservative (5)	<u>Labour</u> (4)	<u>Liberal Democrat</u> (0)
Councillors	Councillors	
 Caunt Fraser-Macnamara Mrs. P. Martin Mrs. Millward Mrs. Walker 	 Sparks Ali Ms. Harris G. H. Davies 	

Chairman - Caunt

Vice-Chairman – Fraser-Macnamara

AUDIT COMMITTEE 2007/08

Conservative (5)	Labour (3)	<u>Liberal Democrat</u> (1)
Councillors	Councillors	Councillor
 Attwood Burston Kettle Ms. Nicholls Taylor 	 Ali J. R. Davies Mrs. Jordan 	1. Tyler

Chairman – Taylor

Vice-Chairman – Kettle

DEVELOPMENT CONTROL COMMITTEE 2007/08

Conservative (5)Labour (3)Liberal Democrat (1)CouncillorsCouncillorsCouncillor1. Banks1. Mrs. M. Wilson1. Mrs. Collins2. Southall2. G. H. Davies3. Mrs. H. Turner3. K. Finch4. R. Wilson

Chairman – Wright Vice-Chairman – Banks

5. Wright

DISCIPLINARY/DISMISSAL/GRADING APPEALS COMMITTEE 2007/08

Conservative(5)Labour(4)Liberal Democrat(0)CouncillorsCouncillors1. Attwood1. G. H. Davies2. Banks2. Mrs. M. Wilson3. Harley3. Mottram4. Jackson4. J. Martin5. James

Chairman – Harley Vice-Chairman – Jackson

LICENSING AND SAFETY COMMITTEE 2007/08

Conservative (8)	<u>Labour</u> (6)	Liberal Democrat (1)
<u>Councillors</u>	<u>Councillors</u>	Councillor
 Mrs. Ameson Mrs. Dunn D. Blood Mrs. Cowell Nottingham Ryder Taylor Woodall 	 Mrs. Coulter A. Finch Tomkinson Mrs. Aston Mottram J. Martin 	1. Ms. Craigie

Chairman – Ryder Vice-Chairman – D. Blood

TAXIS COMMITTEE 2007/08

Conservative (5)	Labour (3)	Liberal Democrat (1)
Councillors	Councillors	Councillors
 Mrs. Ameson Mrs. E. Blood Mrs. Faulkner Hill A. Turner 	 While-Cooper Tomkinson Body 	1. Mrs. Collins

Chairman – Mrs. Ameson Vice-Chairman – Hill

TREE PRESERVATION ORDERS COMMITTEE 2007/08

Conservative (5)	<u>Labour</u> (4)	<u>Liberal Democrat</u> (0)
<u>Councillors</u>	<u>Councillors</u>	
 D. Blood James Ms. Nicholls Mrs. Rogers Simms 	 Mrs. Aston K. Finch Cotterill Mottram 	

Chairman – James Vice-Chairman – Simms

STANDARDS COMMITTEE 2007/08

(6 elected Members plus 2 independent members)

Conservative (2)	<u>Labour</u> (2)	<u>Liberal Democrat</u> (2)
Councillors	Councillors	Councillors
 Fraser-Macnamara Kettle 	 Ms. Partridge J. R. Davies 	 Tyler Ms. Craigie

Two independent Members are the Bishop of Dudley and Ms L. Smith.

Chairman – The Bishop of Dudley