ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL – 18TH MAY, 2006

COMPOSITION AND MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES FOR 2006/2007 (ORDINARY SEATS)

<u>COMMITTEE</u> <u>NUMBER OF SEATS</u>

	<u>TOTAL</u>	CONSERVATIVE	<u>LABOUR</u>	<u>LIBERAL</u> <u>DEMOCRAT</u>
Select Committee on Children's Services *	11	6	4	1
Select Committee on Community Safety and Community Services	11	6	4	1
Select Committee on Health and Adult Social Care	11	6	4	1
Select Committee on the Environment	11	6	4	1
Select Committee on Regeneration, Culture and Adult Education	11	6	4	1
Appointments	9	6	3	-
Audit	9	5	3	1
Development Control	9	5	3	1
Disciplinary/Dismissal/ Grading Appeals	9	6	3	-
Licensing and Safety	15	8	6	1
Taxis	9	5	3	1
Tree Preservation Orders	9	5	4	-
Standards#	6	2	2	2

^{*} Excluding Non-Elected Members

[#] Excluding the two Independent Members (Proportionality does not apply to the Standards Committee)

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL – 18TH MAY, 2006

PROPOSALS FOR THE APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN AND VICE-CHAIRMEN FOR 2006/2007

COMMITTEE	CHAIRMAN Councillor	VICE-CHAIRMAN Councillor
Select Committee on Children's Services	Nottingham	Ms. Boleyn
Select Committee on Community Safety and Community Services	Blood	Cotterill
Select Committee on Health and Adult Social Care	Mrs Ridney	Mrs Faulkner
Select Committee on the Environment	Mrs Cowell	Mrs H Turner
Select Committee on Regeneration, Culture and Adult Education	K Turner	Crumpton
Appointments	Caunt	Fraser-Macnamara
Audit	Burston	Ms Nicholls
Development Control	Wright	Southall
Disciplinary/Dismissal/ Grading Appeals	Banks	Knowles
Licensing and Safety	Ryder	Taylor
Taxis	Mrs Ameson	A Turner
Tree Preservation Orders	James	Simms
Standards	Independent Chairman – The Bishop of Dudley	-

<u>CABINET</u>

Leader and Cabinet Members	<u>Portfolios</u>	<u>Labour Group</u> <u>Spokesperson</u>	Liberal Democrat Group Spokesperson
Councillors			
Caunt (Leader)	Policy	Sparks	Tyler
Fraser- Macnamara	Leisure and Culture	Crumpton	Tyler
Miller	Adult and Community Services	Mrs Ridney	Mrs Collins
Mrs Walker	Children's Services	Ms Partridge	Ms. Boleyn
Jones	Economic Regeneration	Ms Foster	Tyler
Mrs Shakespeare	Environment	Lowe	Ms. Craigie
Mrs Millward	Finance	Ali	Burt
Evans	Housing	Waltho	Ms. Craigie
Mrs Martin	Personnel, Legal and Property	G H Davies	Tyler
Adams	Transportation	Tomkinson	Tyler

CABINET

Leader (Chairman) Councillor Caunt

Cabinet Members (9) Deputy Leader - Councillor Fraser-Macnamara

Councillor Adams Councillor Evans Councillor Jones Councillor Mrs Martin Councillor Miller

Councillor Mrs Millward Councillor Mrs Shakespeare

Councillor Mrs Walker

Labour and Liberal Democrat group members to attend meetings (to speak but not vote).

<u>Labour Group</u> <u>Liberal Democrat Group</u>

7 places 1 place

Councillors Councillor

Sparks Tyler

Ali

Crumpton G H Davies Mrs Ridney Ms Partridge Ms Foster

SELECT COMMITTEE ON CHILDREN'S SERVICES 2006/07

Conservative (6)	Labour (4)	<u>Liberal Democrat</u> (1)
Councillors	Councillors	<u>Councillors</u>
 Mrs Dunn Nottingham Mrs Pearce Rogers A Turner C Wilson 	 Ms Partridge Johnston Mrs Coulter Ahmed 	1. Ms. Boleyn

Chairman – Nottingham Vice-Chairman – Ms. Boleyn

In addition there are the following non-elected members:-

Voting Members

Parent Governor Representatives

- 1. Secondary Schools Mr S R Smith
- 2. Primary Schools Mr G Dudley (elected period of office expires on 25/5/06): Further nomination to be submitted to next Council meeting.
- 3. Special Schools Vacancy nomination to be submitted to next Council meeting if available.

Church Representatives

- 1. Worcester Diocesan Board of Education Revd A Wickens
- 2. Archdiocese of Birmingham Mr A M P Hatton

Non-Voting Members

Teacher Representatives

- 1. Primary Education Ms M Verdegam
- 2. Secondary/Special Education Mr M Lynch

Free Churches

1. Mr S Taylor

Persons with experience of and interest in education in the Borough

- 1. Mrs G Simms
- 2. Ms K Bradley

SELECT COMMITTEE ON COMMUNITY SAFETY AND COMMUNITY SERVICES 2006/07

Conservative (6)	<u>Labour</u> (4)	Liberal Democrat (1)
Councillors	Councillors	<u>Councillors</u>
 Blood Burston Mrs Dunn Harley C Wilson Wright 	 Cotterill Male Finch Mrs Jordan 	1. Mrs Collins
<u>-</u>		

Chairman – Blood Vice-Chairman – Cotterill

SELECT COMMITTEE ON HEALTH AND ADULT SOCIAL CARE 2006/07

<u>Co</u>	nservative (6)	La	bour (4)	<u>Lib</u>	eral Democrat (1)
<u>Co</u>	<u>uncillors</u>	<u>Co</u>	ouncillors	Co	<u>uncillors</u>
	Mrs Cowell Mrs Faulkner Harley Ms Nicholls Simms K Turner	2. 3.		1.	Burt

Chairman - Mrs Ridney Vice-Chairman - Mrs Faulkner

SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE ENVIRONMENT 2006/07

Cons	servative (6)	Lab	<u>oour</u> (4)	<u>Lib</u>	eral Democrat (1)
Cou	ncillors	Co	<u>uncillors</u>	Co	<u>uncillors</u>
2. H 3. 4. H 5. S	Mrs Cowell Harley James Kettle Stanley Mrs H Turner		Lowe Body Tomkinson Finch	1.	Ms. Craigie

Chairman – Mrs Cowell Vice-Chairman – Mrs H Turner

SELECT COMMITTEE ON REGENERATION, CULTURE AND ADULT EDUCATION 2006/07

Conservative (6)	Labour (4)	<u>Liberal Democrat</u> (1)
Councillors	<u>Councillors</u>	Councillors
 Hill Jackson Knowles Southall K Turner C Wilson 	 Crumpton Harris J R Davies Rahman 	1. Tyler

Chairman – K Turner Vice-Chairman – Crumpton

REGULATORY COMMITTEES

NO Cabinet Member will sit on these Committees apart from the Appointments Committee – where there must be at least one Cabinet Member

APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE 2006/07

Conservative (6)	Labour (3)	Liberal Democrat (0)
Councillors	Councillors	Councillor
 Adams Caunt Fraser-Macnamara Mrs Martin Mrs Millward Mrs Walker 	 Sparks Ali G H Davies 	

Chairman - Caunt Vice-Chairman - Fraser-Macnamara

AUDIT COMMITTEE 2006/07

Conservative (5)	<u>Labour</u> (3)	<u>Liberal Democrat</u> (1)
Councillors	<u>Councillors</u>	Councillor
 Attwood Burston Kettle Ms Nicholls Taylor 	 Ali J R Davies Mrs Jordan 	1. Tyler

Chairman – Burston Vice-Chairman – Ms Nicholls

DEVELOPMENT CONTROL COMMITTEE 2006/07

Conservative (5)Labour (3)Liberal Democrat (1)CouncillorsCouncillorsCouncillor1. Banks1. Mrs M Wilson1. Mrs Collins2. Donegan2. G H Davies3. Southall3. Mottram4. Mrs H Turner

Chairman – Wright Vice-Chairman – Southall

DISCIPLINARY/DISMISSAL/GRADING APPEALS COMMITTEE 2006/07

Conservative (6)Labour (3)Liberal Democrat (0)CouncillorsCouncillorsCouncillor

Attwood
 Banks
 Mrs M Wilson
 Jackson
 Knowles

5. Wright

5. Nottingham

6. Taylor

Chairman – Banks Vice-Chairman – Knowles

LICENSING AND SAFETY COMMITTEE 2006/07

Conservative (8)	<u>Labour</u> (6)	<u>Liberal Democrat</u> (1)
<u>Councillors</u>	<u>Councillors</u>	Councillor
 Mrs Ameson Blood Donegan Mrs Dunn Rogers Ryder Taylor Woodall 	 Mrs Coulter Mottram Finch Bradney Tomkinson Mrs Aston 	1. Ms. Craigie

Chairman – Ryder Vice-Chairman – Taylor

TAXIS COMMITTEE 2006/07

Conservative (5)	Labour (3)	Liberal Democrat (1)
Councillors	Councillors	Councillors
 Mrs Ameson Mrs Faulkner Hill Mrs Pearce A Turner 	 Cotterill Tomkinson Male 	1. Mrs Collins

Chairman – Mrs Ameson Vice-Chairman – A Turner

TREE PRESERVATION ORDERS COMMITTEE 2006/07

Conservative (5)	<u>Labour</u> (4)	<u>Liberal Democrat</u> (0)
Councillors	<u>Councillors</u>	Councillor
 Donegan James Ms Nicholls Simms Stanley 	 Mottram Johnston Bradney Mrs Aston 	

Chairman – James Vice-Chairman – Simms

STANDARDS COMMITTEE 2006/07

(6 elected Members plus 2 independent members)

Conservative (2)	<u>Labour</u> (2)	<u>Liberal Democrat</u> (2)
Councillors	Councillors	Councillors
 Mrs Dunn Fraser-Macnamara 	 Male Ms Partridge 	 Tyler Ms. Craigie

Two independent Members are the Bishop of Dudley and Ms L Smith.

Chairman – The Bishop of Dudley