STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Monday, 16 January, 2006, at 6.00pm in Committee Room 4 at the Council House, Dudley

PRESENT:-

Councillors Hart, Male, Ms Partridge, Tyler and J Woodall

OFFICERS

The Director of Law and Property and Mr J Jablonski (Directorate of Law and Property)

8 <u>ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN</u>

As the Bishop of Dudley, the Independent Chairman of the Committee, was a candidate for appointment as an independent member of the Standards Committee, it was

RESOLVED

That Councillor Male be elected Chairman of the Committee for this meeting only.

(Councillor Male (in the Chair)

9 <u>MINUTES</u>

RESOLVED

That the Minutes of the Meeting of the Committee held on 13 September 2005, be approved as a correct record and signed.

10 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No member made a declaration of interest in accordance with Members' Code of Conduct.

11 <u>APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE</u>

An apology for absence from the meeting was submitted on behalf of Councillor Fraser-Macnamara.

12 INTERVIEWS FOR THE APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT MEMBERS OF THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE As the term of office of the two current independent members of this Committee will come to an end on 27 April, 2006, interviews were held of the following four persons who had applied to be appointed as independent members of the Committee:-

The Right Reverend David Walker Mrs Shirley Halliday Miss Lesley Smith Mrs Patricia Willis

The persons named above were interviewed in the order indicated, responded to questions asked by the Committee and were given the opportunity to ask questions.

At the conclusion of each interview the Director of Law and Property asked each person whether they met the eligibility requirements as set out in guidance notes sent to them, and as reiterated at the meeting, and in each case they indicated that they met the requirements.

Following consideration of the responses given to the questions asked of, and by, each person, it was:-

RESOLVED

That the Council be recommended to appoint the Right Reverend David Walker and Miss Lesley Smith as Independent Members of the Standards Committee for a term of four years with effect from the 28th April, 2006.

The meeting ended at 7.50 pm

CHAIRMAN