

Central Dudley Area Committee – 12th June, 2011

Appointment of Working Groups

Report of The Area Liaison Officer

Purpose

1. To consider the appointment of Working Groups of the Committee for the 2012/13 Municipal Year.

Background

2. In the last municipal year the Committee appointed the following Working Groups:-

Capital Allocations Working Group Russells Hall Traffic Working Group

3. The Capital Allocations Working Group has been in existence since 2000 and its principal role has been to consider all applications for funding from the Committee's Capital Allocations budget and make recommendations to the full Committee for consideration and determination.

On 5th March, 2012, the Council approved the Revenue Budget Strategy for 2012/13, including a proposal that the annual Area Committee Capital Allocations (totalling £240,000) are to be met from revenue resources and no longer restricted to funding capital projects alone. This gives additional flexibility in respect of the schemes that can be funded, and also enables groups to bid for funding that have previously been excluded because their activities are primarily of a revenue nature.

The composition of the Capital Allocations Working Group has traditionally been the Chairman and Vice-Chairman and one Member from each of the Wards. The Vice-Chairman may also act as the representative of his or her Ward, provided that all five Wards are represented on the Group.

The members for 2011/12 comprised Councillors Ahmed (Chairman), Mrs Aston, Cotterill, M Davis, K Finch, Roberts, Waltho and Zada.

4. The Russells Hall Traffic Working group was set up with a remit to identify solutions to a number of long standing traffic issues associated with the Russell's Hall Estate area and to report to the

Area Committee.

The composition of the Working Group comprised the Chairman of the Committee, the members for the St James's and Brockmoor and Pensnett wards and Members from the Netherton, Woodside and St Andrew's ward with the Members being Councillors Ahmed (Chairman), M Davis and Mrs Roberts (St James's ward), Mrs Greenaway, Ms Foster and Mrs Jordan (Brockmoor and Pensnett ward), Ms Wood and Zada (Netherton, Woodside and St Andrew's ward).

Finance

5. Any costs arising from the appointment of Working Groups will be met from existing resources.

<u>Law</u>

6. Since Working Groups do not have the status of formal Committees, the rules of proportionality which relate to seats on Committees under Section 18 of the Local Government and Housing Act, 1989 and the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations, 1990 are not applicable.

Equality Impact

7. This report complies fully with the Council's policies on equality and diversity.

Recommendation

8. That the Committee determine the Working Groups to be appointed in 2012/13 and their composition and membership.

Andrea Pope-Smith Area Liaison Officer

Contact Officer:

Karen Farrington, Democratic Services
Directorate of Corporate Resources - Ext 8219

Email: karen.farrington@dudley.gov

Adrea bee Dis

Background Papers

The Council's Constitution.